July 9, 2024

OOMPH! announces new frontman and forthcoming album

🇺🇦 Side-Line stands with Ukraine - Show your Support

(Photo by Heilemania ) German industrial rock band Oomph! has announced the arrival of a new vocalist, Der Schulz, who will be collaborating with existing members Cr4p and Flux after the departure of Dero Go.

The band’s upcoming album, titled “Richter und Henker” (Judge & Executioner) is slated for release on 8th September 2023. This new album will mark the band’s 14th studio effort. The first single from the album, featuring Der Schulz, is set to drop on 11th July 2023.

Oomph! has handled the album’s production and recording themselves promising “a mix of their signature sound with innovative elements”.

Cr4p and Flux say this regarding their new frontman: “Der Schulz was always our first choice. Since we have known and appreciated each other for a long time, he was the first singer we approached. Of course, we also met with many other promising applicants in our studio and tried out the collaboration. In the end, Der Schulz convinced us because he manages to revive the feeling of the old OOMPH! songs and we harmonize extremely well on a human and creative level. He is a strong songwriter and lyricist and has the exact charisma, presence and character we were looking for. We had the right feeling all the way from the start!”

About OOMPH!

OOMPH! is a German rock band that originated in Wolfsburg, Germany, and was formed in 1989. They are known for pioneering the Neue Deutsche Härte movement. The band’s music incorporates various styles including metal, industrial, alternative rock, electronica, and gothic. They initially produced music with lyrics in both English and German, but in recent albums, they have shifted towards exclusively German lyrics.

Throughout their career, OOMPH! has undergone several changes in their musical style. They started with a dance-laden industrial sound and later moved towards a guitar-driven metal sound while still incorporating electronic elements. This unique blend of guitar-driven metal and electronic music has been influential, inspiring other bands like Rammstein, Megaherz, and Eisbrecher.

OOMPH! has released several albums and has had a number of successful singles. One of their most notable singles is “Augen auf!” (“Open your eyes!”), which was part of their eighth album “Wahrheit oder Pflicht”. This single became their first number one hit in Germany and marked a major commercial breakthrough for the band. Their album “Ritual”, released in 2019, became their first album to debut at No. 1 on the German charts.

As of September 2021, the band’s longtime frontman Dero Goi is no longer part of the band. The current members include Crap (Thomas Döppner) on lead guitar and keyboards, and Robert Flux (Rene Bachmann) on rhythm guitar, samples, and bass.

author avatar
Bernard - Side-Line Staff Chief editor
Bernard Van Isacker is the Chief Editor of Side-Line Magazine. With a career spanning more than two decades, Van Isacker has established himself as a respected figure in the darkwave scene.

Since you’re here …

… we have a small favour to ask. More people are reading Side-Line Magazine than ever but advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news organisations, we haven’t put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as open as we can - and we refuse to add annoying advertising. So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

Side-Line’s independent journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce. But we do it because we want to push the artists we like and who are equally fighting to survive.

If everyone who reads our reporting, who likes it, helps fund it, our future would be much more secure. For as little as 5 US$, you can support Side-Line Magazine – and it only takes a minute. Thank you.

The donations are safely powered by Paypal.

Select a Donation Option (USD)

Enter Donation Amount (USD)

Verified by MonsterInsights