April 12, 2024

Metroland to land all new album ‘Forum’ in May – Pre-order now


Metroland to land all new album

🇺🇦 Side-Line stands with Ukraine - Show your Support

This month, Alfa Matrix, the Belgian label, has embraced a Kraftwerk-inspired mode, marking the announcement of its third electro-pop release reminiscent of Kraftwerk’s iconic sound. Following Elektroklänge and Cubic, it’s now the turn of Metroland to take the spotlight.

The Belgian duo, comprising Passenger A and Passenger S, has announced a new album for May, “Forum”, the follow-up to their March 2023 released “0” album. The new album was already teased by the 3-track single “Industry” (which was released earlier on Bandcamp exclusively first and will from tomorrow on hit all other platforms).

The new Metroland album is available for pre-order on CD via the Alfa Matrix webstore and as download / streaming via Bandcamp (with other platforms to follow upon the release date).

Originally considered as a potential concluding single for “0” in 2023, “Forum” has since then evolved into a full-fledged album with a distinct concept. Drawing inspiration from the World Economic Forum in Davos, as their previous album did, “Forum” aims to explore the convergence of innovation and nostalgia, described by the label as ‘a hymn to the 21st-century industrial revolution.’

It’s important to note that “Forum” will be available in 2 different versions: the download and streaming formats will feature a unique tracklist compared to the CD version. That’s why the Bandcamp release of “Industry” includes two versions of the title track (5.0 and 6.0), while the CD edition offers a comprehensive 10-minute experience encapsulating all six industrial revolutions, exclusively for CD listeners.

Tracklist CD:

  1. Cooperation in a fragmented world
  2. The great reset
  3. Activity as a timetrigger
  4. Happy nothing
  5. Baukultur (the davos declaration)
  6. Infotainment
  7. Quantum
  8. World economic forum
  9. Industry 1.0 *
  10. Industry 2.0 *
  11. Industry 3.0 *
  12. Industry 4.0 *
  13. Industry 5.0
  14. Industry 6.0

(*) exclusive tracks for the CD version – NOT available on digital platforms

In case you missed the “Industry” single that preceded the album, check below.

author avatar
Bernard - Side-Line Staff Chief editor
Bernard Van Isacker is the Chief Editor of Side-Line Magazine. With a career spanning more than two decades, Van Isacker has established himself as a respected figure in the darkwave scene.

Since you’re here …

… we have a small favour to ask. More people are reading Side-Line Magazine than ever but advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news organisations, we haven’t put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as open as we can - and we refuse to add annoying advertising. So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

Side-Line’s independent journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce. But we do it because we want to push the artists we like and who are equally fighting to survive.

If everyone who reads our reporting, who likes it, helps fund it, our future would be much more secure. For as little as 5 US$, you can support Side-Line Magazine – and it only takes a minute. Thank you.

The donations are safely powered by Paypal.

Select a Donation Option (USD)

Enter Donation Amount (USD)

Verified by MonsterInsights