April 12, 2024

Diary Of Dreams goes classic on ‘Under a timeless Spell’


Diary Of Dreams goes classic on 'Under a timeless Spell'

🇺🇦 Side-Line stands with Ukraine - Show your Support

Out via Accession Records on April 26 is the brand new Diary Of Dreams album “Under a timeless Spell”. “Under a timeless Spell” was recorded with a full philharmonic orchestra and offers 9 classic Diary of Dreams tracks in a completely new acoustic guise, realized with the Leipzig Philharmonic.

The album will be out on CD and also as a white and black splatters vinyl in a limited and numbered edition of 1000 copies. The CD comes in a first edition fold-out digipak.


  1. Malum
  2. She and her Darkness
  3. The Valley
  4. Hiding Rivers
  5. The Plague
  6. Hell in Eden
  7. Butterfly:Dance!
  8. Traumtänzer
  9. The Colors of Grey
  10. The Secret

About Diary of Dreams

Diary of Dreams is a German darkwave band formed in the late 80s by lead singer and founding member Adrian Hates. The project’s debut album, “Cholymelan”, was released in 1994 through Dion Fortune label. Following the initial success, Adrian Hates established Accession Records, his own music label, to further the project’s releases. “End of Flowers”, the project’s second album, came out in 1996, delving deeper into the darkwave genre. This was followed by “Bird Without Wings” in 1997 and the more experimental “Psychoma?” in 1998.

The subsequent releases, “One of 18 Angels” and “Freak Perfume” (alongside its companion EP “PaniK Manifesto”), saw a shift towards integrating electronic rhythms. 2004’s “Nigredo”, was a concept album influenced by a mythology crafted by the band, and signaled a return to more nuanced and sparse compositions, albeit with elements of their dance-oriented sound.

Seeveral other albums followed. “Elegies in Darkness” was released on March 14, 2014 and saw Hates drawing inspiration from German expressionism (1909-1935) and the concept of “the beauty of ugliness”, both in lyrics and artwork.

Diary of Dreams albums and EPs

  • Cholymelan (1994)
  • End of Flowers (1996)
  • Bird Without Wings (1997)
  • Psychoma? (1998)
  • One of 18 Angels (2000)
  • Freak Perfume (2002)
  • PaniK Manifesto (2002) – EP/mini-album
  • Nigredo (2004)
  • Menschfeind (2005) – EP/mini-album
  • Nekrolog 43 (2007)
  • (if) (2009)
  • Ego:X (2011)
  • Elegies in Darkness (2014)
  • Grau im Licht (2015)
  • Hell in Eden (2017)
  • Melancholin (2023)
author avatar
Bernard - Side-Line Staff Chief editor
Bernard Van Isacker is the Chief Editor of Side-Line Magazine. With a career spanning more than two decades, Van Isacker has established himself as a respected figure in the darkwave scene.

Since you’re here …

… we have a small favour to ask. More people are reading Side-Line Magazine than ever but advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news organisations, we haven’t put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as open as we can - and we refuse to add annoying advertising. So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

Side-Line’s independent journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce. But we do it because we want to push the artists we like and who are equally fighting to survive.

If everyone who reads our reporting, who likes it, helps fund it, our future would be much more secure. For as little as 5 US$, you can support Side-Line Magazine – and it only takes a minute. Thank you.

The donations are safely powered by Paypal.

Select a Donation Option (USD)

Enter Donation Amount (USD)

Verified by MonsterInsights