Sea Of Sin – The Remixes (EP – 7US Music)

By Jan 25,2020

Donate and keep us up and running! Thanks!

Donate and keep us up and running! Thanks!

Genre/Influences: Electro-pop.

Format: Digital, CD.

Background/Info: German synth-pop duo Sea Of Sin were mainly active during the 90s, but struck back during the past few years, re-releasing their earlier work plus a new opus entitled “Unbroken” in 2019. Several EP’s were released as well. This new EP is a fine selection from the remixes that were originally released on these EP’s, but some little extras.

Content: “The Remixes” features 15 songs, but especially “What Are You Waiting For” has been put in the spotlights. The “Single Edit” is a fully enjoyable electro-pop track driven by a catchy chorus you can easily sing along. Remixes have been accomplished by Mesh, Paralyzed, Khibou, Oren Amram, Rotoskop and Mindbeat. Another song that has been featured is “You” that has been remixed by Blume, The New Division and Uncreated. You also will recognize older cuts from the early period like the unavoidable “I Live My Life” in a so-called “Neo Remix” and “Star” in an alternative edit. There also is a “Club Edit” of “Truth” (also originally released on the band’s debut album “Watch Out!”) and the new song “Only The Memory Remains”, which confirms the electro-pop skills of this band.

+ + + : The main strength of this EP is the diversity of the remixes. Sea Of Sin has chosen a very eclectic selection of bands so you don’t get the feeling all songs are similar. The contribution of Mesh is a nice little extra while their remix is pretty cool, but I also have to mention the club-friendly remix by Paralyzed and the groovy-one by Khibou. I also like the funky edit of Oren Amram. Sea Of Sin has a nose to compose catchy, danceable songs with great choruses so I can imagine it’s pretty inspiring to remix them. They also revealed a great new song “Only The Memory Remains”.

– – – : Luckily, this EP is a special fan edition because I became a bit saturated from all these remixes.

Conclusion: Sea Of Sin has made a noticeable comeback and this new EP only confirms their potential; this is fully enjoyable, classical electro-pop music.

Best songs: “What Are You Waiting For – Single Edit”, “Only The Memory Remains”, “What Are You Waiting For – Mesh Remix”, “What Are You Waiting For – Paralyzed Remix”.

Rate: (7½).


Label:  /


Email this post to a friend.

or Close


Lost your password?