April 13, 2024

Girls Under Glass – Backdraft (Album – Dependent Records)

🇺🇦 Side-Line stands with Ukraine - Show your Support

Genre/Influences: Dark-Wave, Gothic, Post-Punk.

Format: Digital, CD.

Background/Info: Legendary German formation Girls Under Glass strikes back with their first new studio album in eighteen (!) years. Driven by Volker Zacharias (vocals, guitar), Axel Ermes (electronics), Falko Grau (bass) and new singer Tom Lücke the Hamburger formation has achieved ten new songs. Notice by the way there also is an edition available with an extra EP whereon Tom Lücke is singing. This is a live EP. “Backdraft” was mixed by Chris Harms (Lord Of The Lost).

Content: Girls Under Glass remains faithful to their ‘old’ song which they infused with refreshing ideas. It’s hard to define the sound but it clearly appears to be a mix between different influences. From Dark-Wave to Electro with Post-Punk elements and even Wave-Rock. The songs reveal carrying choruses which have an elevating effect through the electronic melodies and the charismatic, powerful, vocals on top. One of the songs (cf. “Tainted”)  features alluring guest vocals by Mortiis.

+ + + : The comeback of Girls Under Glass is a damned good thing. This band released great stuff and it all sounds like the long break didn’t affect their creativity. This is an uncompromised production bringing different influences together resulting in a very own thing. The work stands for diversity while the songs are the exposure of power and danceable vibes although there’re dreamy passages as well. The vocals are powerful as well and especially the choruses create an elevating sensation because of the global power and melodic electro arrangements. “Tainted” featuring Mortiis is one of the absolute high lights but I also have to mention the somewhat minimal “Eiskalt” featuring DerHarms and the harder sounding “Everything Will Die” and “Heart On Fire”.

– – – : No true minus points but Girls Under Glass will for sure have to conquer the younger audience.

Conclusion: It took several years to the band to achieve this new full length but the result is worthy of examination; Girls Under Glass strikes back with a sonic bomb!

Best songs: “Tainted”, “Eiskalt”, “Everything Will Die”, “Heart On Fire”, “No Hope No Fear”, “Tanz Im Neonlicht”. 

Rate: 9.

Artist: www.facebook.com/GirlsUnderGlassEst1986

Label: www.dependent.de / www.facebook.com/dependent.records

author avatar
Inferno Sound Diaries
I have been working for over 30 years with Side-line as the main reviewer. My taste is eclectic, uncoventional and I prefer to look for the pearls, even if the bands are completely unknown, thus staying loyal to the Side-Line philosophy of nurturing new talents.

Since you’re here …

… we have a small favour to ask. More people are reading Side-Line Magazine than ever but advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news organisations, we haven’t put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as open as we can - and we refuse to add annoying advertising. So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

Side-Line’s independent journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce. But we do it because we want to push the artists we like and who are equally fighting to survive.

If everyone who reads our reporting, who likes it, helps fund it, our future would be much more secure. For as little as 5 US$, you can support Side-Line Magazine – and it only takes a minute. Thank you.

The donations are safely powered by Paypal.

Select a Donation Option (USD)

Enter Donation Amount (USD)

Verified by MonsterInsights