April 15, 2024

Dark wave industrial act Synical releases 5th album ‘This Will All Happen Again’ today

🇺🇦 Side-Line stands with Ukraine - Show your Support

Synical, the dark wave industrial act, is set to release their fifth album, ‘This Will All Happen Again’, today on Cleopatra Records. The album promises a unique blend of goth, dark-wave, and post-punk genres.

Based in Los Angeles, California, Synical draws inspiration from a diverse range of artists, including Depeche Mode, New Order, The Cure, Prince, Joy Division, and Kraftwerk.

A string of collaborations on new album with members from Bauhaus, Love and Rockets, …

Synical was founded in 1989 by singer/songwriter, producer, and engineer, Brian Haught, after his departure from the electronic funk band AC Black, which was signed to Motown Records. Since its inception, Synical has evolved significantly, featuring a variety of band members and transitioning through numerous sounds over the years. What started as a solo act for Brian eventually expanded into a duo, then a trio, and finally a full five-piece band.

For their latest album, Brian Haught split his time between LA and Atlanta, writing new songs and recording in both cities. Collaborating with David Black, Jimi Echo, Eric Griffin (Muderdolls), and former Synical drummer Cheney Brannon (Collective Soul), the band also welcomed Noel Page during the recording sessions.

Over the years, Synical has collaborated with a host of musicians, including John Fryer (NIN, Love & Rockets, Depeche Mode), Ivan De Prume (White Zombie), Roy Mayorga (Ministry, SoulFly, Stone Sour), Alex Carapetis (NIN, Julian Casablancas), Robin Finck (NIN, Guns N’ Roses), Cheney Brannon (Collective Soul), and Racci Shay Hart (Dope).

The new 10-track album features guest appearances from members of Bauhaus, Love and Rockets, My Life With The Thrill Kill Kult, Mary My Hope, Faster Pussycat, Genitorturers, and Murderdolls.

Guns N’ Roses demos for “Chinese Democracy”

In the late nineties, Brian Haught collaborated with Robin Finck (Nine Inch Nails/Guns N’ Roses Guitarist) on some of the Guns N’ Roses album demos for “Chinese Democracy”. This collaboration led to the recruitment of new band members to continue his vision for Synical. Joined by guitarist Eric Griffin, bassist Brent Ashley, and Ben Graves, they released their third album “Synical Forever” in 2004 and their fourth “Quit While You’re Behind” in 2012. Following a tumultuous tour of Italy, Brian decided to further reconstruct and update Synical’s members, leading to the current lineup.

author avatar
Bernard - Side-Line Staff Chief editor
Bernard Van Isacker is the Chief Editor of Side-Line Magazine. With a career spanning more than two decades, Van Isacker has established himself as a respected figure in the darkwave scene.

Since you’re here …

… we have a small favour to ask. More people are reading Side-Line Magazine than ever but advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news organisations, we haven’t put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as open as we can - and we refuse to add annoying advertising. So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

Side-Line’s independent journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce. But we do it because we want to push the artists we like and who are equally fighting to survive.

If everyone who reads our reporting, who likes it, helps fund it, our future would be much more secure. For as little as 5 US$, you can support Side-Line Magazine – and it only takes a minute. Thank you.

The donations are safely powered by Paypal.

Select a Donation Option (USD)

Enter Donation Amount (USD)

Verified by MonsterInsights