Yann Tiersen announces career-spanning album including 3 new songs and 25 newly recorded tracks

Yann Tiersen announces career-spanning album including 3 new songs and 25 newly recorded tracks
🇺🇦 Side-Line stands with Ukraine - Show your Support

“Portrait” is a brand new career-spanning (all re-recorded) album for Yann Tiersen featuring Gruff Rhys, John Grant, Stephen O’Malley and Blonde Redhead and also including 3 new songs. PORTRAIT

Recorded to 24-track 2-inch tape, mixed to stereo ¼ inch tape then mastered from tape to vinyl, the album is a fully analog approach for Tiersen. “Limiting our ability to digitally manipulate, overdub or make changes after deciding a creative path gave an energy and beautiful tension to the recording process which I’d found was being lost with the limitless possibilities of digital recording. Not translating sounds into 1 and 0 keeps music in the real world.”

Besides the before mentioned featurings, the album was recorded with touring collaborators Emilie Tiersen, Ólavur Jákupsson and Jens L Thomsen at The Eskal, the new analog studio complex Tiersen recently built on his home island of Ushant in Brittany.

Below you can listen to the first two tracks to be launched from the album, “Introductory Movement (feat. Stephen O’Malley)” and “Monochrome (feat. Gruff Rhys)”:

“Portrait” tracklisting

  • Introductory Movement (feat. Stephen O’Malley)
  • The Long Road (La Longue Route)
  • Monochrome (feat. Gruff Rhys)
  • Chapter 19 (feat. Ólavur Jákupsson)
  • Rue des Cascades (feat. Ólavur Jákupsson)
  • The Old Man Still Wants It
  • Gwennilied (feat. Emilie Tiersen)
  • Prad (feat. Stephen O’Malley)
  • Diouz An Noz (feat. Emilie Tiersen & Ólavur Jákupsson)
  • Porz Goret
  • La Dispute
  • Pell (feat. Emilie Tiersen)
  • Erc’h (feat. Ólavur Jákupsson)
  • The Wire (Sur le Fil)
  • The Waltz of the Monsters (feat. Emilie Tiersen)
  • Closer (feat. Blonde Redhead)
  • Naval
  • The Jetty
  • Koad (feat. Ólavur Jákupsson)
  • Prayer No.2
  • Gronjord (feat. Ólavur Jákupsson)
  • Kala (feat. Ólavur Jákupsson)
  • Comptine d’Un Autre Été (L’Après-Midi)
  • Tempelhof (Part 2)
  • Thinking Like A Mountain (feat. John Grant & Stephen O’Malley)

Since you’re here …

… we have a small favour to ask. More people are reading Side-Line Magazine than ever but advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news organisations, we haven’t put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as open as we can - and we refuse to add annoying advertising. So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

Side-Line’s independent journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce. But we do it because we want to push the artists we like and who are equally fighting to survive.

If everyone who reads our reporting, who likes it, helps fund it, our future would be much more secure. For as little as 5 US$, you can support Side-Line Magazine – and it only takes a minute. Thank you.

The donations are safely powered by Paypal.

Select a Donation Option (USD)

Enter Donation Amount (USD)

Verified by MonsterInsights