Side-Line Music Magazine

Our TOP 10 vinyl releases of 2015

2015 saw an increased number of vinyl releases hitting the shop shelves, and although it’s still far from safe to announce a vinyl comeback, sure thing is that this analogue format still has a high number of fans, if not for the sound, surely for the physical beauty of the product. So, after 15 years, Side-Line finally comes back with a TOP 10 of the best vinyl releases, this time of 2015.

Included in this TOP 10 list are not only brand new releases but also reissues which we enjoyed quite a bit.

1. Front Line Assembly – “Hard Wired (20th Anniversary)” 6LP

This 20th anniversary release of “Hard Wired” offers a fully authorized 6LP edition of “Hard Wired” on vinyl. The boxset itself contains the following: “Hard Wired” on 2LP double-gatefold vinyl, “Live Wired” on 3LP triple-gatefold vinyl, “Circuitry” on 1LP vinyl. All the material was remastered from the original tapes and supervised by Greg Reely and Bill Leeb.

Here’s a preview of the release, which you can still order right here.

2. Haujobb – “Blendwerk” 2LP Vinyl

The newest Haujobb album “Blendwerk” arrived as a double black vinyl and is the band’s 8th studio album in 22 years and their 2nd in the last decade. This 2LP vinyl comes in a deluxe textured gatefold vinyl sleeve including MP3 download codes. Side D includes 4 bonus tracks not available on the CD edition.

Here’s a preview of the release, which you can still order right here.

3. Celldöd – “Mekaniskt Gransland” Pink Vinyl

Out via Suction Records, “Mekaniskt Gränsland” is the debut full-length release for Sweden’s Celldöd after a series of extremely limited cassettes. Celldöd’s Anders Karlsson is not a young techno producer, but a seasoned EBM musician and fanatic, a member of bands including The Pain Machinery and Bunkersex.

Here’s a preview of the release, which you can still order right here.

4. Hearts of Black Science – “Signal” Vinyl.

“Signal” is the new album by Swedish duo Hearts Of Black Science. The new album includes guest appearances by Chrysta Bell, Justin Greaves (of Crippled Black Phoenix), and Heike Langhans (of Draconian) and is available on CD and vinyl. The vinyl release of this album is strictly limited to 500 copies worldwide.

Hearts of Black Science hail from Gothenburg and formed in November 2005. They are known for creating dark, brooding synthpop mixed with shoegaze, goth and new wave pop. The project already released two albums, “The Ghost you left behind” on UK-based Club AC30 in 2007 and “The Star in the Lake” in 2009 on Swedish Wonderland Records.

Here’s a preview of the release, which you can still order right here.

5. Advanced Art – “Darkhive: The Tape & Vinyl Years” Vinyl

2015 marked the 30th anniversary of Finnish electronic pioneers Advanced Art, originally founded by Pasi “Jana” Janhunen, Petri “Pete” Huttunen and Petja “Vince” Valasvaara on October 13th, 1985. Hailing from Tampere, Advanced Art existed from 1985 to 1995, during which time they released several cassettes, two split 7″ with Finnish goth mainstays Two Witches, and eventually a 12″, a CD maxi, and two CD albums on Finland’s pioneering Poko Rekords label.

Exactly 30 years after the official formation of Advanced Art (October 13th, 2015),”Darkhive: The Tape & Vinyl Years” saw the light of day. It ended up being a special 11-track compilation featuring rare cassette tracks, the band’s hard to find 7″ material, and tracks from the collector’s item “Scar” 12″.

Here’s a preview of the release, which you can still order right here.

6. Beborn Beton – “A Worthy Compensation” 2LP+2CD

It is said that the new Beborn Beton album “A Worthy Compensation” has been 8 years in the making so it was about time to get the release out on the streets and that is what happened on September 4th. The album from the Essen-based act came in two editions, a CD version and a double vinyl edition (including a 2CD set). The nicely alighted 2LP/2CD package is limited to just 500 copies.

The album was completed with the help of producer Olaf Wollschläger (Technoir, Mesh, …). Anno 2015 Beborn Beton consists of Stefan Netschio (vocals), Michael Wagner (electronics) and Stefan Tillmann (programming, electronics).

Here’s a preview of the release, which you can still order right here.

7. Azar Swan – “Dance Before The War” Vinyl (Frosted Clear)

Originally released as a digital-only album via Handmade Birds, the debut album from Azar Swan also got the vinyl treatment in 2015. The vinyl is printed on a blackish bronze inversion of the original digital art, using a special 6/0 colour technique to achieve the texture. Also included is a printed inner sleeve containing all lyrics. Of course it also includes an MP3 download code.

Swan consists of the duo Zohra Atash and Joshua Strawn, which were former core members of the orchestral goth project Religious To Damn.

Here’s a preview of the release, which you can still order right here.

8. Flint Glass & Collapsar – “Deus Irae” Vinyl

Released in mid-November was the Flint Glass & Collapsar collaboration album “Deus Irae”. Flint Glass is the well known Paris-based one man project of Gwenn Trémorin, while Collapsar is a dark space ambient solo project from Strasbourg, formed by Thibaud Thaunay. On “Deus Irae” the duo explores the depths of a post apocalyptic world, inspired by Philip K. Dick & Roger Zelazny’s science fiction novel of the same title. This ficticious musical journey is separated in 2 parts and lasts for more than 40 minutes.

The track list is finished with remixes by Spherical Disrupted, Hologram_, Sylvgheist Maëlström, Ah Cama-Sotz and Iszoloscope.

Here’s a preview of the release, which you can still order right here.

9. She Past Away – “Narin Yalnizlik” Vinyl

Turkey is too often considered as being a country without a new wave community. Weird, because it has for instance one of the biggest Depeche Mode and The Cure following in Europe. Fortunately some Turkish bands are changing this misconception slowly but steadily.

Out via the Fabrika/Remoov labels is the brand new album from the Turkish act She Past Away. On “Narin Yalnızlık” She Past Away showcases again that Turkey not only has Peter Murphy doing well. “Narin Yalnızlık” is the follow up to 2012’s best seller “Belirdi Gece” which was also released via Fabrika Records.

The dark-wave act She Past Away formed in 2006. Their music compiles elements from bands like The Sisters of Mercy, The Cure, Joy Division and Clan of Xymox. The band released its debut on the Istanbul based label Remoov which also released their first 3-track download single “Kasvetli Kutlama” in 2010.

Here’s a preview of the release, which you can still order right here.

10. Harmonia – “Complete Works” 6LP Boxset

Available since early November “Complete Works” is a 6 vinyl boxset compiling all 5 albums the short-lived German Krautrock band Harmonia released between 1973 and 1976. Spread over 6 vinyls you’ll find the digitally remastered versions of “Musik von Harmonia”, “Deluxe” (produced by Conny Plank), “Tracks And Traces” (a 2LP with Brian Eno), “Live 1974” and “Documents”.

Harmonia featured Dieter Moebius and Hans-Joachim Roedelius of Cluster, and Michael Rother of NEU!. Their music captured the attention of Brian Eno, David Bowie, and other mainstream musicians. Eno even briefly joined the band, recording music with them in 1976, those tapes were released on the “Tracks And Traces” album.

Here’s a preview of the release, which you can still order right here.