July 9, 2024

Depeche Mode performs 4 tracks at French Taratata TV-show including 2 new songs, ‘Ghosts Again’ and ‘Wagging Tongue’

🇺🇦 Side-Line stands with Ukraine - Show your Support

On February 14th, Depeche Mode took the stage to perform four tracks for the popular French television program, Taratata. This highly-anticipated performance was recorded for later broadcast on March 24th, 2023, which is the same day that the band’s latest album, “Memento Mori,” is set to be released.

While uploads of the performance have been taken down from Reddit and YouTube, there’s no doubt that this event will continue to generate buzz among fans leading up to the broadcast in March. Recordings of the performance are circulating in private chat groups.

Depeche Mode performs 4 tracks at French Taratata TV-show including 2 new songs,'Ghosts Again' and'Wagging Tongue'

The setlist of the TV performance:

  1. Ghosts Again
  2. Wagging Tongue
  3. Precious
  4. Personal Jesus

“Memento Mori” is the upcoming fifteenth studio album by Depeche Mode set to be released on 24 March 2023, through Columbia and Mute. The album was produced by James Ford and Marta Salogni. It was preceded by the single “Ghosts Again” and will be the first Depeche Mode studio album to be released after the death of co-founder and keyboardist Andy Fletcher on 26 May 2022.

Although work on the album began prior to Fletcher’s death, Dave Gahan stated in an interview with NME that Fletcher did not record any material for the album. The album will be promoted by a Memento Mori tour.

This is the track list of the album. All tracks are written by Martin L. Gore, except where noted.

  1. My Cosmos Is Mine (Martin L. Gore)
  2. Wagging Tongue (Martin L. Gore, Dave Gahan)
  3. Ghosts Again (Martin L. Gore, Richard Butler)
  4. Don’t Say You Love Me (Martin L. Gore, Butler)
  5. My Favourite Stranger (Martin L. Gore, Butler)
  6. Soul with Me (Martin L. Gore)
  7. Caroline’s Monkey (Martin L. Gore, Butler)
  8. Before We Drown (Dave Gahan, Peter Gordeno, Christian Eigner)
  9. People Are Good (Martin L. Gore)
  10. Always You (Martin L. Gore)
  11. Never Let Me Go (Martin L. Gore)
  12. Speak to Me (Dave Gahan, Marta Salogni, Christian Eigner, James Ford)

Here’s already a live performance in Paris on the program Quotidien with Yann Barthès with “Ghost Again”.

author avatar
Bernard - Side-Line Staff Chief editor
Bernard Van Isacker is the Chief Editor of Side-Line Magazine. With a career spanning more than two decades, Van Isacker has established himself as a respected figure in the darkwave scene.

Since you’re here …

… we have a small favour to ask. More people are reading Side-Line Magazine than ever but advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news organisations, we haven’t put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as open as we can - and we refuse to add annoying advertising. So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

Side-Line’s independent journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce. But we do it because we want to push the artists we like and who are equally fighting to survive.

If everyone who reads our reporting, who likes it, helps fund it, our future would be much more secure. For as little as 5 US$, you can support Side-Line Magazine – and it only takes a minute. Thank you.

The donations are safely powered by Paypal.

Select a Donation Option (USD)

Enter Donation Amount (USD)

Verified by MonsterInsights