July 10, 2024
🇺🇦 Side-Line stands with Ukraine - Show your Support

Another World Cup has drawn to a close, and while there was a fair amount of controversy surrounding the Cup, especially in terms of where it was held, it was otherwise a successful event that ended in happiness for some and great disappointment for others.

The next World Cup on the radar is the 2026 World Cup, and like with any iteration of the tournament, there are a number of changes that are in the works. Whether all these changes will manifest during the upcoming World Cup remains to be seen, but they could mean a vastly changed event.

Overview Of The Cup

It’s set to be the 23rd FIFA World Cup, and will be hosted in 16 cities across three Northern American countries, including the United States, Canada, and Mexico. The United States will be home to a total of 60 matches, while Mexico and Canada will be hosting 10 matches each. Argentina is set to be the defending champions for the World Cup, while Mexico City will be the only Capital City that will be hosting the event of the three different countries, while Ottawa and Washington DC have also been chosen.

Notable Changes

Some of the first changes that were announced was the establishment of a larger pool of teams. Instead of the usual 32, there will instead by a total of 48 teams. Along with the expanded number of teams, there will also subsequently be more matches played at 80, with the majority being held within the United States.

The US was able to beat a bit by Morocco during the final vote, which was held at the FIFA Congress in Moscow. Mexico is also set to be the first country to co-host or host the men’s World Cup three times in total. The last time the United States was host to the event was in 1994, and it will be the very first time that Canada is a host or co-host.

The Playoff Tournament

There will be a playoff tournament that will include six teams playing matches in different stadiums. The tournament will be used to decide the two FIFA World Cup final berths. The six teams include one team for each confederation except the UEFA. Two of the teams’ seeds will be based on World Rankings, and these two chosen teams will go on to play for the two FIFA World Cup berths against the victors of the knockout games.


As of yet, the qualification process has not officially been decided on, so it might be worth taking up a new hobby like playing the latest  PlayUp Betting options until the process is announced. The United Bid has anticipated that all three host countries would be given automatic berths. This was something that was confirmed by Gianna Infantino, the FIFA President, while he was visiting the country of Guatemala. He confirmed publicly that six CONCACAF teams would be qualified to take part in the event, and that the United States, Mexico, and Canada would qualify automatically because these three countries are going to be the hosts.

author avatar
Bernard - Side-Line Staff Chief editor
Bernard Van Isacker is the Chief Editor of Side-Line Magazine. With a career spanning more than two decades, Van Isacker has established himself as a respected figure in the darkwave scene.

Since you’re here …

… we have a small favour to ask. More people are reading Side-Line Magazine than ever but advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news organisations, we haven’t put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as open as we can - and we refuse to add annoying advertising. So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

Side-Line’s independent journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce. But we do it because we want to push the artists we like and who are equally fighting to survive.

If everyone who reads our reporting, who likes it, helps fund it, our future would be much more secure. For as little as 5 US$, you can support Side-Line Magazine – and it only takes a minute. Thank you.

The donations are safely powered by Paypal.

Select a Donation Option (USD)

Enter Donation Amount (USD)

Verified by MonsterInsights