April 12, 2024

Danish synthpop duo SoftWave to release brand new single ‘System Failure’ next month

🇺🇦 Side-Line stands with Ukraine - Show your Support

(Photo by Dag Stinus) Out on June 11 via Bandcamp and Beatify Audio (and one week later on all other digital platforms) is the newest single from the Danish synthpop duo SoftWave: “System Failure”. SoftWave consists of the duo Catrine Christensen and Jerry Olsen.

The track is a clear reference to how the Covid19 crisis has affected people mentally around the world. Singer Catrine Christensen explains: “System Failure” describes the duality of being isolated in many months without associating with others, and how much life with a computer can disturb the mind and even provoke frustration, depression and in rare cases – anger.”

The band formed in 2014 and debuted in 2016 with the EP “Together Alone” which was followed by “Together Alone The Remixes” in 2017. Their debut landed in 2019 with “Game On” which also got the remix treatment on “Game On 1Up” (re-released in 2020 with bonus tracks on Electro-Shock-Records).

After touring with OMD on the Scandinavian leg of their “Greatest Hits – Souvenir Tour” (feb, 2020), SoftWave was invited by Erasure’s Andy Bell to produce remixes for his forthcoming Andy Bell is Torsten project “Club Torsten!” among Vince Clarke, Bronski Beat and more.

Below is the band’s “Game On 1Up” release including a live track from their OMD support show at Oslo’s Rockefeller venue.

author avatar
Bernard - Side-Line Staff Chief editor
Bernard Van Isacker is the Chief Editor of Side-Line Magazine. With a career spanning more than two decades, Van Isacker has established himself as a respected figure in the darkwave scene.

Since you’re here …

… we have a small favour to ask. More people are reading Side-Line Magazine than ever but advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news organisations, we haven’t put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as open as we can - and we refuse to add annoying advertising. So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

Side-Line’s independent journalism takes a lot of time, money and hard work to produce. But we do it because we want to push the artists we like and who are equally fighting to survive.

If everyone who reads our reporting, who likes it, helps fund it, our future would be much more secure. For as little as 5 US$, you can support Side-Line Magazine – and it only takes a minute. Thank you.

The donations are safely powered by Paypal.

Select a Donation Option (USD)

Enter Donation Amount (USD)

Verified by MonsterInsights